MassCPR Donor Honor Roll

On March 2, 2020, HMS Dean George Q. Daley convened a meeting that brought together key physicians and scientists across the commonwealth, joined by colleagues in China via videoconference, to organize a formal, integrated effort to confront the COVID-19 pandemic. There Daley shared the details of China Evergrande Group’s planned commitment to fund separately Harvard and the Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Health (GIRH) to advance research on the scale and scope needed to meet this extraordinary challenge. The Harvard-led Massachusetts Consortium on Pathogen Readiness (MassCPR) was born.

Now a multi-institutional collaboration, MassCPR encompasses hundreds of researchers, physician-scientists, clinicians, and public health experts representing world-leading academic, hospital, biopharma, and public-health institutions based in Massachusetts. They are joined by collaborators at GIRH and Tsinghua University in China, and throughout the crisis have consulted with colleagues in Italy, Germany, and India. The consortium’s shared goals are twofold: To turn the tide of this current pandemic and to create a rapid-response system to address future health crises.

Funding for MassCPR has also grown, and we recognize and thank those donors here for their critical support. Sixty-two high-impact research projects have been funded as of July 2020 to address the most pressing needs of the pandemic.

At this time, when the need for urgent and sustained action is critical, MassCPR is grateful to the many individuals, foundations, organizations, and companies that have generously committed resources toward accelerating our research. Thank you to all those listed below who have given generously to support MassCPR.


Founding Donor

China Evergrande Group


Lead Benefactors ($1 million or more)

Fondation Bertarelli/Ernesto Bertarelli, MBA ’93

Nancy Lurie Marks Foundation

Massachusetts Life Sciences Center

Lisa H. Schwartz, Mark Schwartz, AB ’76, MBA ’78, MPP ’79, and Enid Schwartz


Partners In Discovery ($100,000 or more)

Howard Cox, MBA ’69

Margaret A. Hamburg, AB ’77, MD ’83, GSA ’78

Stephen A. Kahn, MD ’98

David C. Ott, MBA ’92, and Jane Ott

Leonard D. Schaeffer


Friends of Innovation ($1,000 or more)

David C. Bush, MD ’69, and Louise Bush

JESY Foundation

Jeffrey Leerink

Peter S. Lynch

Mark Miller

Ingrid L. Ott, MD ’90

Robert L. Parsons, MD ’55

Barbara and Louis Perlmutter

Mary Lynch Witkowski, AB ’96, MBA ’01, MD ’11

David J. Zaleske, MD ’75


Contributors (up to $1,000)

Philip E. Blazar, AB ’86, MD ’90

Brewster Foundation

Judith A. Brice, AB ’67, MD ’71

Sheila Marie Calip-Coleman and Basilio Coleman

Donna Carleton and William Carleton, MD ’66

William M. Carleton Revocable Trust

Laura Ethel Chiel, MD ’15

William M. Clark, MD ’71

Raquel E. Cohen, MPH ’45, MD ’49

Basilio Coleman

Gary W. Crooks, AL MD ’81

Matt Finnie

Deborah Geismar, AB ’78, MD ’83

Thomas J. Gill III, AB ’53, AM ’57, MD ’57

Lauren O. Glickman, AB ’90, MD ’94

Margaret E. Hegg, MD ’72

David N. Helman, MD ’95

Herbert Hudnut Jr., MD ’57

Ajeya P. Joshi, MD ’96

Lakshmi Devi Nelson Lattimer, MD ’06

Nancy B. Lazarus, MD ’76, and David Siegel, MD

Leerink Family Foundation

Carol A. Locke, AL MD ‘86

The Lynch Foundation

Randal Moore

Bita H. Nasseri, MD, and Shawn S. Nasseri, MD ’95

Phoebe L. Olhava, MD ’00

Majd Oteibi

Marie E. Pasinski, MD ’86, and Roger C. Pasinski, MD ’78

Georges Peter, AB ’59, MD ’64

Meryl S. Rosofsky, MD ’93

Naveen Kumar Salutagi

Jacey and Timothy Shumaker

David Siegel

Haofeng Edward Tang

Richard R. Thornton, MD ’60

Audrey Shiuan Wang, MD ’08

Dana J. Weinkle, MD ’80

Yifan Yang, MD ’08

Barry R. Zitin, MD ’73, and Melinda K. Zitin, MD ’73


In-Kind Supporters


FormAssembly Inc.